FAQ

 


  1. What types of licenses are available?

    Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist (LDN) licenses are given to individuals who have successfully completed the registration exam given through CDR. 

    Provisional Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist (Provisional LDN) licenses are given to individuals who have not yet passed the registration exam given through CDR. Provisional LDNs require supervision by an LDN.

  2. -Online application to LBEDN for Provisional LDN License with $98 fee

    -Official Transcript showing degree awarded in accepted field

    -Official Verification Statement from an ACEND accredited supervised practice program

    -Once a job is obtained, submit Supervision Form and Formal Job Description 

    -Take the registration exam through CDR

     

    Upgrade to LDN must be requested online once CDR exam is passed.

  3. If you hold a Provisional LDN license: 

    -Upgrade Request

    -$48 fee 

    -Copy of CDR card

     

    If you do not hold a license, apply for LDN license:

    -Application for License

    -$93 fee

    -Copy of CDR Card

    -Official copy of Transcript showing degree awarded in accepted field

    -Official Verification Statement from an ACEND accredited supervised practice program

  4. If you have not already obtained licensure, you must submit the following to LBEDN:

    If you passed the exam:

    -Application for LDN license

    -$93 fee

    -Copy of CDR card

    -Official copy of Transcript showing degree awarded in accepted field

    -Official Verification Statement from an ACEND accredited supervised practice program

    -Formal Job Description

     

    If you have not passed the exam:

    -Application for Provisional LDN license

    -$98 fee

    -Supervision Form

    -Official copy of Transcript showing degree awarded in accepted field

    -Official Verification Statement from an ACEND accredited supervised practice program

    -Formal Job Description

  5. Do I need a job prior to obtaining a license?

    A job is not required to obtain licensure.

  6. Registration vs. Licensure: What's the Difference?

    The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND) represents RD’s/RDN’s. Dietitians are credentialed/registered by CDR, the credentialing agency of AND. Membership in AND is voluntary, although important for reimbursement in many employment settings.

    Dietitians/Nutritionists are licensed by LBEDN in Louisiana. Licensure is mandatory in Louisiana. Licensure laws vary by state. Because of the title protection in Louisiana, individuals registered by CDR may not call themselves a “Registered Dietitian”, “RD”, “Registered Dietitian Nutritionist” or “RDN” without actually having the license.

  7. Dietetic/Nutrition Scope of Practice

    Dietetics/Nutrition practice is defined as the integration and application of principles derived from the sciences of nutrition, biochemistry, food, physiology, management, behavioral, and social sciences to achieve and maintain client health through the provision of nutrition care services, which shall include:

    (a) Assessing the nutritional needs of individuals and groups based upon appropriate biochemical, anthropometric, physical, and dietary data to determine nutrient needs and recommend to the primary health care provider appropriate nutritional intake enteral and parenteral nutrition.

    (b) Establishing priorities, goals, and objectives that meet nutritional needs and are consistent with available resources.

    (c) Providing nutritional counseling by advising and assisting individuals or groups on appropriate nutritional intake by integrating information on food and other sources of nutrients and meal preparation consistent with cultural background and socioeconomic status.

    (d) Developing, implementing, and managing nutrition care systems.

    (e) Evaluating, making changes in, and maintaining standards of quality in food and nutrition care services.

     

  8. Guidelines for Credential Placement?

    The Board encourages Licensed Dietitians/Nutritionists to use the designation LDN after their name on all professional correspondence, as this is the legal designation for licensing in the State of Louisiana.  In accordance with the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the Board recommends the following order for listing your credentials:  name, graduate academic degree, RD or RDN, LDN, followed by other certifications.  The following is given as an example:  Jane Doe, MS, RD or RDN, LDN, CDE. Please reference the attached docuent from the CDR entitled "Guidelines for Credential Placement" for further information.

     

  9. How often must I renew my state licensure?

    Licensure renewal is required annually by June 30th.  Please be reminded that licensure renewal is required in addition to the renewal of your CDR card annually.

     

  10. I just received my license on March 15th.  Am I really required to renew by June 30th?

    Yes.  Licenses issued from July 1 - March 31 must renew by June 30th of that fiscal year.